Donate Now Facebook square blue small

(260) 665-6656

Mail white large 2016 Standard Logo with Tagline to Use 1 - SCFN-logo Supporting Organization eNewsletter Grants Portal


SCCF Announces 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar Finalists

By JoAnna Ness, Oct 23 2018 05:13PM

The six 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar finalists have been selected by the Steuben County Community Foundation (SCCF). After reviewing 20 highly competitive applications from the schools serving Steuben County, the committee named six finalists to continue with the four-step selection process.

Jaden Cardoso, Annie Delgadillo, Mason Gaerte, Alyssa Hernandez, Bailey Pelliccia, and Abigail Stoy met on October 16 to complete phase two which included an interview success workshop and an impromptu essay. The final step for these young community leaders will include an interview with the selection committee and a presentation of their personal portfolio.

Fremont High School senior Jaden Cardoso plans to attend Grace College to study mathematics and computing. Angola High School senior Annie Delgadillo plans to attend Indiana University to major in environmental and sustainability studies. Angola High School senior Mason Gaerte plans to attend Butler University to study biology. Angola High School senior Alyssa Hernandez is undecided in her college/university choice, but plans to study pre-med. Angola High School senior Bailey Pelliccia plans to attend the University of Notre Dame to study biological sciences. Angola High School senior Abigail Stoy plans to attend Purdue University to study kinesiology/physical Therapy.

“SCCF is honored to facilitate this scholarship for a hard-working student in our community that exemplifies high academic and extra-curricular achievements,” said Jacqui Gentile, program officer.

The Lilly Scholar recipient will be announced in December. SCCF awards a $1,000 Circle of Friends scholarship to the other five finalists.

Since 1998, Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) has awarded this four-year scholarship (which includes a $900 annual stipend for books and required equipment) to a Steuben County student to attend the Indiana college or university of their choice. ICI delegates the selection process to SCCF who utilizes a committee of community volunteers to facilitate the process.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There are 143 scholarships awarded statewide; the number awarded in each county is based on the number of fulltime residents in each county. Steuben County was offered one award in 2018.