How to give

Making a Donation

SCCF views charitable giving like a jigsaw puzzle. We work to connect two crucial types of pieces – generous donors who want to support a variety of causes in the community, and nonprofit organizations that are working to make a difference in Steuben County.

SCCF makes giving easy by accepting many types of gifts, allowing donors greater flexibility and the maximum tax advantage possible.

Donors can rest easy knowing their investment in our community is secure at SCCF. The Foundation is publicly accountable for the management and distribution of its assets through annual independent audits, filing of tax returns and public disclosure of grant activities.

You can make a donation to one or more funds at SCCF in a few ways.

Ways to Give

Give online –
You can make a one-time or recurring gift by credit card through SCCF’s online donor portal. Gifts can be directed to support one or more funds. Click “donate” at the top of the website to access SCCF’s online donation portal. Include the name of the fund you wish to support. See our funds page for an up to date listing.

Cash or check –
Mail or drop off your donation at the SCCF office, located at 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703. Our office is open Monday-Friday from 8:30 am-4:30 pm or you can use the secure lockbox on the north side of the building. Checks should be written to the Steuben County Community Foundation, with specific fund names written in the memo line if applicable.

Other Giving Tools –
SCCF can accept a wide variety of gifts to provide the maximum tax benefit. Many donors choose to leave a legacy by designating SCCF as a recipient of all or part of their estate through their will. SCCF also works with many local professional advisors to coordinate more complicated, tax-advantageous giving tools. Our board is prepared to work with donors and their legal and financial advisors to define these gifts. These include:

No matter how you support SCCF, our board has enacted a variety of policies to ensure that we will always uphold the highest standards to fulfill the intent of your charitable giving and make an impact in the community.

Contact our President & CEO, Jennifer Danic, with any questions at or 260-665-6656.

Establishing a Fund

Sometimes donors are interested in providing sustainable support for a particular nonprofit, and we can help them establish a permanent designated endowment fund to do just that. Other donors want the flexibility to award grants to the greatest needs in the community as those change. We can offer advice to donors about community needs and find the right fund to fit their giving interests.

Establishing a fund is easy, convenient, and inexpensive. SCCF takes care of the administrative activities, allowing you to focus on being the grantmaker!

Creating a fund can be accomplished in 3 steps: name the fund, decide on the purpose of the fund, and make your contribution to the fund. We are here to help you become connected to the issues you care about most, and by setting up a fund, you have the ideal opportunity to create a legacy for you and for our community.

Learn more about the different types of funds here.

Check out our Fee Policy and Privacy Policy Statement.

Give Later

SCCF celebrates the members of the Baron von Steuben Society. The purpose of the Society is to identify and thank those individuals and families who make bequests naming the Steuben County Community Foundation in their estate planning. Society members make a personal imprint and leave a lasting legacy in our community.

The Society was named after Revolutionary War hero, Baron von Steuben, who brought great technical knowledge and training to the American soldiers.

To learn more about creating a new fund or supporting existing funds through your estate, contact SCCF President & CEO, Jennifer Danic, at or 260-665-6656.

Current Baron Von Steuben Society Members

Lucille Whitman
Wava Aughenbaugh
John Crone
Eileen Fulton
Elizabeth Hanna
Gene E. Kalb
John Kelly
Dick and Peg King
Tom and Joy LaCour
Oswald and Joyce Marcher
Donald and Martha Rogers
Estel Sewell
Helen Stevens
George O. Witwer 
Thomas and Susan Wenzel
Lauretta Abrahamer

Jack and Anita Dierkes
C.J. “Hymie” and Bea Geiger
Mary Elizabeth Moody
H. Pauline Hand
Dr. David W. Goodwin
Mary Jane Kruse
Neal and Soni Patterson
Larry and Mercedes Clemens
Katherine McDermott Herrold
Mary Jane Hall
Steve and Tana Gibson
Lynn B. Wernet
Verna Curry Boyer
Ralph and Cheryl Taylor
Ramona Holsinger
David and Kathy Bruns
Cleon and Pauline Throop

Read our Latest News

Steuben County Water/Ways

peaceful, calming, necessary, fun, home, life Throughout January and February, community members across Steuben County have been talking about water. These six words were part

Read More »

Call To Action

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce sollicitudin accumsan. Nullam arcu est, cursus eget lobortis id, porttitor quis augue. Donec pharetra purus sed.

Call To Action

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Fusce sollicitudin accumsan. Nullam arcu est, cursus eget lobortis id, porttitor quis augue. Donec pharetra purus sed.
Scroll to Top